AINSE - Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering

The Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE) is an integral organisation for enhancing Australia’s capability in nuclear science and engineering by facilitating world-class research and education. AINSE offers a range of programs and services to its members including generous conference support, inspiring symposiums, Honours / Postgraduate scholarships and intensive education schools. These benefits aim to foster scientific advancement and promote an effective collaboration between AINSE members and ANSTO.

 Funding opportunities offered by AINSE

AINSE Japan Study Tour

Investigating the benefits of particle therapy

Read the News Story on the ANSTO website

Due to the success of this tour, expressions of interest are now open for another AINSE tour to Japan in 2018. The AINSE Particle Therapy Tour 2018 will have an agenda based on feedback from the 2017 participants.

AusYGN secures IYNC conference for Sydney in 2020!

Australia is set to host the International Youth Nuclear Congress (IYNC) in Sydney in 2020, following a successful bid campaign by the Australian Young Generation in Nuclear (AusYGN). Read more...

STEM leaders forge path to stronger Australian science and technology

Presidents, CEOs and other leaders of Australia’s most prominent science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) organisations gathered in Canberra on 1 May 2018 to highlight the important role that science and technology will play in Australia’s future. Read More...

A New Board Member for AINSE Ltd

We are delighted to announce the addition of Dr Suzanne Hollins to the AINSE Board as an ANSTO Representative. AINSE Managing Director Michelle Durant said she is happy to welcome AINSE’s newest board member and looks forward to the addition of her talent, expertise and energy. Read More...

The AINSE Trust

The purpose of the AINSE Trust, established in 2008, is to provide scholarships and fellowships for Australian students and researchers who are participating in AINSE programs.

You can help by providing a donation to the AINSE Trust. More Information


Upcoming Student Opportunity


Watch this space! We will soon open applications for;

AINSE Residential Student Scholarship (RSS)


The AINSE Residential Student Scholarship (RSS) is a new ‘top-up’ residential postgraduate scholarship to high quality students who are enrolled in a PhD at an AINSE Member University. The Scholarship differs from a Postgraduate Research Award (PGRA) in that a RSS student must be onsite at an ANSTO facility (at Lucas heights, Camperdown and/or Clayton) for six months per year which can be a block of time or separate visitations. The award was developed as AINSE recognised an opportunity to support students whose project topics closely align with ANSTO’s research programs; The Environment, Human Health, Nuclear Fuel Cycle, Defence Industry and Fusion.



Nuclear Techniques for Cultural Heritage | 12-15 June 2018
Sydney, Australia
More Information

11th Conference of the Aseanian Membrane Society | 3 - 6 July 2018
Brisbane, Australia
More Information

9th Vacuum and Surface Science Conference of Asia and Australia| 13 - 16 August 2018
Sydney, Australia
More Information

Neutrons and Food Conference |16 - 19 October2018
Sydney, Australia
More Information 

Joint meeting of the Asian Biophysics Association & the Australian Society |2 - 6 December 2018
Melbourne, Australia
More Information